ToMB, Month 0: Unite or Die!

7 Feb

ramos-blog1

So over at http://eastgrinsteadwargamers.blogspot.co.uk/ I’m planning on writing some blog articles that should act as an introduction to Malifaux, since a few of us are taking Malifaux out of my living room and into our local bi-weekly club. We’ve been playing Malifaux pretty solidly since we kind of stumbled upon it around the release of M2E, and so far it looks like people at the club have liked the looks of it too, so hopefully these articles will increase interest in the game. One of the articles I’m planning on writing is a ‘How much you need to spend to start a 50ss crew’ article, with a few case studies for different types of crews. Whilst writing this article, I came upon the following revelation:

Ramos is a massively cheap starting point.

Most of the starter sets that have been released for M2E so far have normally included between 25 and 35ss of models, excluding upgrades and caches, so to play at 50ss you need to combine a starter pack with a blister or two. So for Viktorias I might add Vanessa, or Pandora I might add Teddy or some Dopplegangers. Ramos, on the otherhand, is a minimum of 42ss straight out of the box. That’s 12ss for Howard Langston, 10ss for Joss, 4ss for the Brass Arachnid and 8ss for two Steam Arachnid Swarms. Chances are you’ll change one or both of those swarms for 3 Steam Arachnids instead (at 4ss each), so we’re looking at 50ss in the box, excluding upgrades and cache. How’s that for value?

We talked about this at the club last week and we agreed that it was an awfully tempting master (even ignoring that the crew itself is very powerful), even though we all had other projects we were working on. We all took a deep breath, and put ideas of buying this boxset out of our minds and resisted. I successfully managed to resist temptation for all of about a week, at which point I saw a boxset going on ebay for much less than the asking price at Dark Sphere. I mean, I can use these models for demos at the club, right? That’s a good reason for having them, right? This has absolutely nothing to do with low willpower at all! Maybe my low willpower is why I need a master with a WP of 6?

At the same time as this is going on I noticed the Tale of Malifaux Bloggers project going on over at http://taleofmalifauxbloggers.blogspot.co.uk/, the forums, blogs, twitter, yadda yadda. So since I’ve bought this starter set anyhow, and would not want Ramos and company to just sit on the shelf with all the other miniatures I’ve bought and not painted or play with, I’ve decided to take part. This should hopefully give me the motivation to keep up with painting the M&SU, get them out at least once a month, and maybe even improve my (lacklustre) painting skills in the process. This also works out quite well timing wise – the ToMB project doesn’t want any painting started until Feb 17th, and I can’t do any painting until then either due to my commitments with painting the last of my models for Smogcon.

So with the $60 model budget I have for month one I’ve bought the M&SU starter set for $50… and that’s about it. The remaining $10 can be saved for next month once I’ve gotten a handle of how many Arachnids I really need.

ramos-blog2

So this gives me the following:

1 x Ramos
1 x Howard Langston
1 x Joss
1 x Brass Arachnid
6 x Steam Arachnids

I don’t know if Steam Arachnid Swarms are worth having vs. 3 Steam Arachnids. I think that is something that comes with experience; thankfully a Steam Arachnid box is fairly cheap, and will likely be the highest priority of my Month 2 purchases. I should hopefully get some action in with Ramos and his crew before that though.

On top of this, I’ve bought some resin clockwork bases since I’m too inexperienced to make bases more exotic than simple sand and grass. These haven’t arrived yet so I won’t link where I got them from, but once I have them I’ll give my opinions. As well as keeping track of the ‘virtual budget’, I’ll keep track of the actual cost of putting together this crew, to give a better idea of how much it’d cost to go from having nothing to having a painted Ramos crew.

I’m really looking forward to both painting and playing Ramos and the M&SU. As much as I’ve had fun playing with Seamus, McMourning and (especially) Nicodem, it’d be nice to have a completely different change of visual style, going from zombie horde to mechnical horde.

Leave a Reply

Yet Another Malifaux Blog

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

East Grinstead Wargaming Sussex

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Malifauxrnication

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Subject to Stupidity

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

WGCWeekendWarriors

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Gaming with Gorillawizard

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

By The Hanging Tree

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Who Needs a Strategy

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Tickling the Tyrants

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

atoritun's tales - Blog

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Gremlin Green

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Black Joker rage quit

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

FauxShow

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

The Wake of Godzilla

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Falcon's Nest

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Ruminating, Cogitating and Digesting My Thoughts About Malifaux

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Malifaux Musings

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Scribes of Terra

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

Barneys Stable

... needing a better blog name since 07/02/14

